top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshley Welling

Using Essay Outlines to Help Students Write Better Essays

Updated: Nov 9, 2020

For several years I have been using essay outlines with my students to help them write their essays. I created a step-by-step graphic organizer to help the students know what needs to be included in each paragraph and how to organize the paragraphs.

Method 1: Paper


I take each paragraph that I want the kids to fill out and create a table for it. In the table there is a box or section for each part of the paragraph. For my kids who struggle more with writing, I make a box for each sentence. So if they need to write 2-3 sentences of explanation for a piece of evidence then there will be 2 or 3 boxes for them to write each sentence in. For my more advanced kids I just create one big section for them to write their sentences in.

This does take up more paper, but I like this way because they can physically see what they are writing and it gives helps those learners who are more visual and spatial. Then when it comes time to type their essay, they start at the beginning and work their way to the end typing what they wrote down. Having my students write their essay on paper and then transfer it to a computer takes more time, but it slows the kids down so they can think about what they are writing. This method is more self-paced because my explanations


Method 2: Digital

This method uses a little more guided practice. I use this method after they have written at least one essay and are more familiar with writing essays. My students get out their chromebooks and open up a new Google Doc. I walk through each part of the essay and my students will type that section we are working on. I start at the beginning and model an introduction and review the parts of an introduction with them. I then walk them through how to write and organize a body paragraph, and they can write

The thing I like about doing it this way is that the essay is all typed by the time we are done writing it. All they need to do is go back and do revisions. The digital method does save a lot of time.


You can grab a copy of my essay outlines in my Teachers Pay Teachers Store.

18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page